Controlling your Facebook Privacy Settings
If you are in the middle of or about to start a lawsuit, what you post on Facebook and other social media sites can be very damaging to your case. This page explains Facebook’s privacy settings and shows you how to control the various Facebook privacy options. It is also important that you be very careful about what you post to Facebook. It is best that you limit your postings as much as possible and never discuss your case, your injury or other related issues. Speak with your Lowenthal & Abrams attorney if you have any questions.
Increasing Video Size
Click on the square on the lower right side of a video to increase its size.
Controlling Who Can See Your Posts From The Beginning
This video shows you how to control who can see a new Facebook post, how tagging impacts who can see your posts, and how you can change who can see a post after you have already created it.
Limiting Past Posts
This video explains how you can limit who can see your past Facebook posts. With a few clicks, you can take all public or friends-of-friends posts and turn them to friends only. One exception, if you have tagged someone, that person and his friends will still be able to see the post in which he was tagged.
Deactivating Your Facebook Account
If you are planning on or in the middle of a lawsuit, you may not delete your Facebook account. But you may deactivate it. Deactivating a Facebook account keeps it exactly as it was when you last logged in. This video contains instructions on how to deactivate your Facebook account. If you log in to your account after you deactivate it, it will automatically reactivate. Remember, this is deactivation, not deletion.
Do Not Delete Content!
Please remember, you may not delete anything from your Facebook account without properly preserving it first. If you are a client of Lowenthal & Abrams, please do not delete anything from your account without speaking to your attorney first. We can help you preserve whatever you want to remove from your wall before you remove it. Deleting content from social media is considered spoliation and can damage or even destroy your case. Deletion of content can also lead to serious and expensive sanctions.